Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Image
The new Yamaha Genos 'top of the range' Workstation.

Moderators: andyg, Eileen

Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Postby Hugh-AR » 22 Jan 2018 10:55

There is one thing you could do on a Tyros keyboard that you don't seem to be able to do on the new Genos, and that is to do with recording a chord sequence in Song Creator. On the Genos you can certainly record a chord sequence, but only if you use a preset Genos style. If you modify an existing style in Style Creator and save it as a New Style, or use a Style not on the Genos that you have transferred from a Tyros, the Chord Sequencer will not accept it. It will only accept styles from the Preset or Favourites section. And there is no way of loading non-preset Genos styles into Favourites.

???

Hugh
It's all about the music. Yamaha AR 80 Player.
Image
Challenge Winner
2018 August (Joint Winner)
User avatar
Hugh-AR
Prolific Poster
 
Posts: 2148
Joined: 07 Feb 2015 15:34
Location: Weston-super-Mare, Somerset, UK

Re: Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Postby Brian007 » 23 Jan 2018 09:00

Hi Hugh,

It was possible on the Tyros but as you say from what I seen and read, its only possible ( at the moment ) to do it
with the original built in styles on the Genos, ?

Now the new Korg models Pa1000 & Pa700 you can actually do it 3 ways,

1/ in the sequencer you can create a full chord sequence ( and from what I have seen its far superior to the Tyros one )

2/ which is totally new on the new model Korgs, it is a on the fly sequencer, you press a button and can play your chords
and it will remember them, and also save it as a songbook entry and can be recalled at any time

3/ if you import a midi file with chord info in it, it will do the same, save the chord progression in songbook
and it can be recalled at anytime

Now thats clever

Brian007
Image Image Image
User avatar
Brian007
Prolific Poster
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 11:58
Location: chester-le-street. Co. Durham

Re: Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Postby Eileen » 03 Feb 2018 18:24

I don't know many people that use step record on there songs. But don't forget there is an update coming so we must wait and see what it alters or adds.
Eileen


Genos, S970 and Stagepass 300
Website: Yamaha Keyboard Players Forum
Image
Challenge Winner
2018 August (Joint Winner)
User avatar
Eileen
Super Poster
 
Posts: 547
Joined: 14 May 2012 23:25
Location: Essex

Re: Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Postby Brian007 » 04 Feb 2018 09:52

Hi Eileen,

There has been a few posts I have seen lately with reference to the sequencer on the new Genos, and there are a lot of people waiting for the release of any updates to see if it helps them get what they want out their new keyboard, Possibly the problem here is the previous model had this feature and nobody expected it not to be readily available on the new model, so time will tell


Brian007 :D :D
Image Image Image
User avatar
Brian007
Prolific Poster
 
Posts: 3809
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 11:58
Location: chester-le-street. Co. Durham

Re: Recording a chord sequence in Song Creator.

Postby Eileen » 07 Feb 2018 18:12

The problem seems to be that they can't record the style part in step record using a third party style but then I am not to Shure if you can do this on Tyros 5. It is something I have never used. I think most of us just sit and play while we record the song.
Eileen


Genos, S970 and Stagepass 300
Website: Yamaha Keyboard Players Forum
Image
Challenge Winner
2018 August (Joint Winner)
User avatar
Eileen
Super Poster
 
Posts: 547
Joined: 14 May 2012 23:25
Location: Essex


Return to Yamaha Genos Workstation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest